Rochford District Awards recognise our community champions

Monday, May 13, 2019

The best and the brightest from across the Rochford District have been celebrated in a special ceremony.

More than 100 people attended the Rochford District Awards, sponsored by Fusion Lifestyle, to congratulate our community champions and those who have excelled in local sport.

They were entertained by singer Sarah Tucker, who reached the latter stages of hit TV show ‘The Voice,’ at an event held at the Freight House, Rochford, on Friday 10 May.

A special thanks to Ben Fryer, who compered the evening, and our special guests Lucy Hodges MBE and Billy Haynes. Lucy Hodges MBE is a UK and World Blind Sailing Champion who has been recognised previously by winning Sports Personality of the Year, and Billy Haynes, a local entrepreneur whose company continues to grow. 

Chairman of Rochford District Council, Cllr David Merrick, said: “We’re so lucky in the Rochford District to have such a strong sense of community, along with a vibrant network of sporting clubs and organisations. These awards are a wonderful opportunity to celebrate all that we have to offer, and the community champions who make our district such a great place to live, work and visit. 

“I’m delighted that we received such strong nominations this year, and would like to thank all the entrants for demonstrating such hard work, commitment and dedication.”

Alfie Wilks, 14, from Rochford, won the Overall Citizen of the Year award, as well as the Young Citizen of the Year award. Alfie received the most nominations out of anybody in this year’s awards. Alfie has dedicated his spare time to teaching fishing, and has become a mentor for the young members of Stambridge Fishing Group. He is a great asset to them, and is always willing to help others. Nothing is too much trouble for him.

Alfe is a fantastic example to his peers, and has spent hours training to pass his coaching badges level 1 & 2, always putting in hours above and beyond what is expected of him. His commitment and desire to mentor and help these young children is nothing short of exceptional.

He said: “I just really enjoy seeing other people enjoying going fishing, and seeing the things you have taught them come to fruition.”

Please share your photographs from the night using the hashtag #RochfordDistrictAwards and tag us in @RochfordDC

Images from the night can be viewed on our social media accounts Facebook – Rochford District Council, Twitter – RochfordDC and Instagram – RochfordDC Photo credit: Clarissa Debenham

The full list of winners, who were all nominated by the public, is as follows: 

Sports Club of the Year
Hullbridge Sports FC

Hullbridge Sports FC have been in remarkable form under their current manager Darren Manning. Heading for relegation last season, Darren was appointed, and the team avoided relegation. From there, they have been truly exceptional and have won the Essex Senior League this season, achieving their record points total in the process. The club is run by volunteers and the players are not paid, unlike many other clubs at a similar level. They have displayed tremendous skill and motivation to complete such a fantastic transformation, many congratulations to them on their league success!

School of the Year
The Fitzwimarc School

The Fitzwimarc School offer and deliver over 60 extra-curricular activities every week ranging from early morning cross-country to football during lunch. This commitment to sport has paid dividends as they are currently South East Essex football champions, as well as District champions for football, hockey, netball, swimming, rugby, basketball, cricket, athletics, table-tennis and badminton. A long list of incredible achievements! The Fitzwimarc School provide amazing contributions in sport for their young pupils and have developed a culture of enjoyment and hard work, which has led to their success.

Sports Personality of the Year
Abbie Jackson, 16, from Rayleigh

Abbie Jackson - the all-round sportswoman! Abbie is only 16 but has already represented The Fitzwimarc School at District, County and National levels across many sports. Abbie has represented Essex and is part of the Under 16 Essex cup football semi-finalists team, the Under 16 Essex Cup Basketball semi-finalists team and the Under 16 Essex Plate Hockey semi-finalists team. This just shows the amazing standard to which Abbie plays a large variety of sports and due to her love and passion for sport, Abbie is always supportive and encouraging to younger students

Community Spirit of the Year
Ian Jordan from Rayleigh

Ian Jordan from Rayleigh was recognised for the local volunteering work he undertakes. He is a core team member of the Hockley Woods parkrun, volunteering most weekends. He is a valuable member for the Kirste 5 Memorial Race and the Roche Valley Way Relay, raising money for local charities. Ian freely gives up substantial amounts of his own time to help out at all these events and is a valuable team member at all of the events he helps with

Charitable Support of the Year
Tony Humphries from Rochford 

Tony works tirelessly with Scout Groups across the Crouch Valley district to run inter-group activities, making sure children reach high level awards as well as ensuring child safeguarding is carried out at the most professional level. For Beavers, Cubs and Scouts in 4th Rochford he is instrumental in the management of the group and in ensuring the facilities are up to scratch. He works with young leaders aged 14 to 18 to facilitate their gaining of awards by ensuring they complete all tasks necessary.  He also supervises training of adult leaders across the County;.

The following were short-listed:
Sports Personality of the Year:
Danny Crouch
Darren Manning
Tom Donnellan
Sports Club of the Year:
Hawkwell Junior Parkrun
Rochford Martial Arts Academy
 School of the Year:
Holt Farm Junior School
Westerings Primary Academy

Community Spirit of the Year:
Beryl Rose
Dawn Silk
Jolyne Ellis
Mike and Pauline Bailey
Sylvia Alexandra

Charitable Support of the Year:
Darren Parsons

Young Citizen of the Year:
Louise Allen 
Romy Sharp