Rayleigh Windmill reopens its doors!

Date: 
Monday, March 20, 2017

 

Rayleigh Windmill reopens its doors on Sunday April 2 – with a range of exhibitions designed to intrigue and provoke discussion.
 
The 200 year old Grade II listed building was carefully and sympathetically restored 11 years ago, as part of a lottery-funded project, and is well worth a visit.
 
Following the Winter closure, the landmark building will be open every Wednesday from 10am until 1pm and every Saturday and Sunday from 1pm until 4pm until Sunday 1 October, for those who either want to view the exhibitions or simply marvel at the historic building.
 
Rayleigh Windmill is accredited by Visit England as a Quality Assured Visitor Attraction and has also become a popular venue for weddings and other celebrations.  
 
Cllr June Lumley, Portfolio Holder Community, said: “The Rayleigh Windmill is an award-winning tourist attraction, which offers a unique opportunity to learn about how a traditional windmill worked -  and even try on some olden-day costumes!
“You can also have go at the quiz in the museum, view a range of art exhibitions, and learn about the Castle that once stood on Rayleigh Mount. I would urge everyone to pay a visit to this beautiful historic building – particularly if you’ve never visited before.”
 
This year will see a wide-ranging exhibition programme on the second floor of the Windmill, including a chance to meet some of the artists at work:
 
Sunday 2 April – Wednesday 19 April
Mary Blindflowers – Oneiric and symbolic paintings
Italian artist Mary Blindflowers’ oil on canvas and charcoal drawings, rich with symbolic images that represent her deepest approach to metaphysical and phenomenal reality.
 
Saturday 22 April – Sunday 7 May
Dave Gilmore - People, places and the odd Tiger and Cheetah

Dave, who is based in Hullbridge, is very pleased to be back at the Windmill and this year is exhibiting paintings of mainly people, either as individuals or as an integral part of a picture. Dave will be painting live during opening times – why not pop in for a chat?
 
Wednesday 10 May – Wednesday 24 May
Keith Gravestock - A Bit of Glass

Keith creates unique works of art in glass from leaded stained glass windows and copper foiled items (Tiffany style) to fused glass pictures, plates and jewellery, as well as painted vases and mirrors. Visitors can also see him in action, as Keith will be demonstrating the creation of items using the copper foiling technique.
 
Saturday 27 May – Sunday 25 June
Compass Photography Group

Subjects vary between macro images of the natural world, landscapes, portraits and street photography
 
Wednesday 28 June – Wednesday 19 July
Nicki Price - Journeys

Nicki travelled extensively and described these travels and her impressionist painting as her ‘therapy’ in managing her emotions during her terminal illness. Nicki held two London exhibitions but always wished to display her work in her home town, and was proud of her Essex roots.
 
Saturday 22 July – Sunday 13 August
Abbey Parsons

Abbey is a Conceptual Photographic Artist that takes a mixed media approach to her work. Mainly photographing people, Abbey uses a range of medias to enhance her imagery
 
Wednesday 16 August – Wednesday 30 August
Joan Wilson

Mostly oil paintings, covering a range of subjects.
 
Sunday 3 September – Sunday 1 October
David and Qiong Morley

David & Qiong Morley's artworks are inspired by the time they have spent travelling central China, immersed in the culture.
The artworks reflect aspects of Chinese mythology and traditions, connected to and including good fortune, happiness, and wellbeing.
The Windmill will take part in National Mills Weekend on Saturday 13 May and Sunday 14 May, when it will be open from 12- 4pm, with the volunteers dressing up in traditional costume. 
 
Due to private events the Windmill will be closed on the following dates, please check before visiting as these dates are subject to change and opening times may vary:

Wednesday 5 April

Saturday 22 April

Wednesday 31 May

Saturday 3 June

Saturday 10 June

Saturday 17 June

Saturday 15 July 

Wednesday 26 July

Saturday 29 July

Sunday 30 July

Sunday 13 August

Saturday 26 August

Saturday 2 September

Saturday 16 September

 For all the latest news and updates make sure you like the Rayleigh Windmill Facebook page and  follow @RochfordDC on Twitter.

 

  • Rayleigh Windmill