Decent Homes

The government introduced a new standard within the private sector to target vulnerable households living in non-decent homes. A vulnerable household is one, which is in receipt of a means tested or disability benefit, such as income support, housing benefit or disability living allowance.

A decent home is one that meets the following criteria:

  • The current statutory minimum standard for housing.
  • It is in a reasonable state of repair.
  • It has reasonably modern facilities and services.
  • It provides a reasonable degree of thermal comfort.

The government's target is to ensure that 65% of vulnerable households live in decent homes by 2006, 70% by 2010 and 75% by 2020. The council is currently considering the options available to ensure these targets are met.

Further information on the decent home standard, please see the related content section.

If you need any further advice regarding this matter, please contact the Private Sector Housing Team. Tel: 01702 318191.