The Executive

The Executive comprises eight Councillors with Portfolios as follows:-

Leader  - Cllr T G Cutmore (covering Overall strategy and policy direction including corporate policy development, national / regional issues, community leadership, partnership and joint working development, elections,  Local Enterprise Partnership, Chairmanship of the Local Strategic Partnership and all residual functions of the Executive). Leader  - Overall Strategy and Policy (Cllr T G Cutmore)
Deputy Leader - Cllr M J Steptoe (covering Strategic direction, strategic partnerships (including Town and Parish Councils), South Essex Parking Partnership, Essex Partnership for Flood Management, coastal protection and performance management). Deputy Leader - Planning, Transport and Heritage (Cllr K H Hudson)
Finance – Cllr S P Smith (covering Financial resources, audit, procurement, risk management, payroll, creditors and debtors). Finance – Cllr S P Smith
Enterprise – Cllr G J Ioannou (covering Asset management, economic development, employment, town teams, district car parks, commercial activities and tourism, ICT and Communications). Enterprise – Cllr M J Steptoe
Planning – Cllr I H Ward (covering Planning policy, development control, planning enforcement and building control). Environment – Cllr I H Ward
Environment – Cllr A L Williams (covering Recycling, open spaces, waste management, street scene, pollution control, emergency planning,  community safety, TPO service, hedgerows and cemetery services). Planning – Cllr K J Gordon
Community – Cllr M J Webb (covering young people,  safeguarding, public health, housing need, grants and voluntary sector support, leisure centres, arts, culture and heritage). an image of a disk that Links to Cllr M J Webb councillor profile
Governance – Cllr Mrs C E Roe (covering Legal Services, Revenues and Benefits, licensing, land charges, Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act, fraud, data protection, Customer Services, Human Resources and Member support). Governance – Cllr Mrs C E Roe

The Executive makes decisions either collectively or individually on matters of policy and management across the range of services delivered by the Council (subject to some decisions which are reserved to all Councillors meeting as “Full Council”). The more significant decisions (known as “key decisions”) are published in a ‘Key Decisions Document’ (see Related Content). Decisions made by the Executive, or by individual Portfolio Holders, are published and are subject to “call-in” by the Council’s Review Committee for a five day period prior to being enacted.

The agendas, reports and minutes of Executive meetings and the individual Portfolio Holder decisions can be found by using the Related Content section.